FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
California gun law prohibits concealed carry without a Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCWL).
An 8 hour training course (minimum) is required.
For most counties in California, you cannot openly carry a gun or firearm.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Handguns must be unloaded and placed in the car’s trunk or in a ‘locked container’. Locking glove compartments are not included as a ‘locked container’.
Rifles and shotguns do not have to be in a locked container, but must be unloaded.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Suppressors (silencers) and pen guns are not legal in California.
You must have a special permit (Dangerous Weapons Permit) to possess a rifle or shotgun with a short barrel.
Must have special permission to own a machine gun.
Non-lead ammo must be used for hunting.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
Handguns – Must be 21 years old.
Shotguns – Must be 18 years old.
All transfers must go through an FFL.
You need to pass a written test for a Firearm Safety Certificate.
You need to pass a safe handling demonstration.
Background check is mandatory – thumbprint is required.
You may purchase one handgun every 30 days.
Waiting period – 10 days.
Online ammo purchase must be through a dealer that is DOJ licensed.
A background check is required for the purchase of ammunition for California residents.
Handgun ammo - must be 21 years old.
Long gun ammo – must be 18 years old.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.