FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
Must have a CDWL (Concealed Deadly Weapon License) to conceal carry in Delaware.
You must be at least 21 years of age.
There are no restrictions on open carry in Delaware, except you must be at least 21 years of age.
Restrictions on location of where you can Open Carry do apply.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
You may conceal carry in a vehicle if you have a CDWL (Concealed Deadly Weapon License).
If you haven’t a permit, then the firearm must be located in plain sight (example: on the car seat or on the dash).
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Delaware does not allow the ownership of machine guns, suppressors (silencers), or shotguns with short barrels.
You may hunt deer with a handgun, with some restrictions.
Shells no bigger than 10 gauge may be used with shotguns when hunting in Delaware.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
The sale or transfer of a handgun or firearm between private parties requires a background check.
Background checks are required to be completed through a licensed firearms dealer.
There is no waiting period.
Firearms do not have to be registered.
You do not have to obtain a license to own or buy a firearm.
There is no limit on the number of firearms you can purchase per month.
You must be 18 years of age to possess a firearm.
You must be 21 years of age to buy a pistol or revolver.
The minimum age to buy or possess ammunition is 18.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.