FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
You must have a Concealed Weapons License (CWL) to concealed carry in the state of Florida.
It is unlawful to open carry a firearm in Florida.
Exceptions include while fishing (or traveling to/from those activities), while at firing ranges, and while attending gatherings of firearms clubs.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
With a CWL, you may lawfully carry a concealed weapon in your vehicle.
Without a CWL, if you are at least 18 years old, you can have a concealed firearm in your vehicle if the firearm is securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use.
No special permit or license is required to have a firearm in your vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Florida firearms law allows large caliber weapons, short-barreled shotguns and rifles, machine guns, suppressors (silencers) and grenades.
The open carry of guns and firearms is legal while hunting.
Semi-automatic centerfire rifles can have a maximum five round magazine.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
There is a 3 day waiting period for the purchase of a handgun in Florida.
The waiting period does not include those with a CWL (Concealed Weapons License).
There is no background check required for the sale of firearms between private parties.
You must be 18 years of age to purchase and/or possess a firearm.
No license is required to purchase a firearm.
Firearms do not have to be registered.
The number of firearms you purchase at one time has no limit.
If it is not legal for you to possess a firearm, then you cannot possess ammunition either.
The sale, delivery, or manufacture of the following is prohibited:
Dragons Breath shotgun shells
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.