FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
No license is required for concealed carry in Idaho.
No license is required for the open carry of handguns and long guns in Idaho.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
In Idaho, you can open carry or conceal carry a loaded handgun in a car or vehicle. No permit or license is required.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA items are legal to own in Idaho.
You can hunt in Idaho, with a valid permit, using any firearm as long as it weighs less than 16 pounds, is not fully automatic, does not fire buckshot smaller than #00, it does not have any electronic device attached to it or incorporated with the firearm or scope, and you don’t use rimfire ammunition.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required between private parties.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
You must be 18 years of age to purchase ‘any weapon’.
You must be 18 years of age to possess a handgun, revolver, pistol or gun.
There is no limitation on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
There is no law in the state of Idaho that bans the possession of ammunition.
Ammunition must be stored and locked.
Ammunition must be kept separate from firearms, and away from children.
You must be 16 years of age to buy ammunition, excepting shotgun shells and .22 caliber ammo.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.