FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Kansas, no permit is required for concealed carry of a handgun.
Must be 21 years of age.
If younger than 21, you may carry a concealed handgun on your property, abode, or your fixed place of business.
There are no laws prohibiting the open carry of firearms in Kansas.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
No permit is required to transport a firearm in your car or vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA items are legal to own in Kansas.
Suppressors (silencers) are permitted while hunting.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
No license or permit is required to purchase a handgun.
There is no firearm registration required.
There is no waiting period.
Between private parties, no background check is required.
Background check is required if buying a handgun from a gun dealer (with few exceptions).
There is no minimum age to possess a firearm.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is required to possess, sell, or buy ammunition in Kansas.
There is no minimum age to possess or buy ammunition.
There is no obligation to keep records of ammo sales.
Ammo that has a core of less than 60% lead by weight is prohibited.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.