FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Kentucky, no license or permit is required for carrying a concealed firearm (Permitless Carry).
Must be 21 years of age.
No license is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
No permit is required to have a loaded firearm in your vehicle.
You may carry concealed firearms in your vehicle, if you are at least 21 years of age.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Kentucky has no restrictions on NFA items.
NFA weapons and firearms must be registered with the federal government.
Suppressors (silencers) are permitted while hunting in Kentucky.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
In Kentucky, no license is required for the ownership of firearms.
Firearms do not need to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
Background check required if purchasing from a gun dealer.
Must be 18 years of age to buy or possess a firearm.
There is no minimum age to possess a long gun.
There is no limit on the number of firearms bought at one time.
There are no restrictions on ammunition in Kentucky except:
No armor-piercing bullets
No flanged ammo
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.