FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Louisiana, a permit is required for the concealed carry of a handgun (Shall Issue State).
You must be 21 years of age.
The Department of Public Safety is in charge of permits for concealed carry.
No permit is required for the open carry of a firearm.
You must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Firearms may be carried openly or in the glove compartment, console, or trunk of vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
You can possess all NFA items in Louisiana so long as they are registered properly pursuant to the National Firearms Act.
Open carry while hunting is legal in Louisiana.
Any firearm may be open carried while hunting for your personal protection.
Using a suppressor (silencer) is legal while hunting.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
In Louisiana, no license is required to buy a firearm
Firearms are not required to be registered, except for some short-barreled shotguns.
There is no waiting period.
There is no background check for the transfer of a firearm between private individuals.
You must be 18 years of age to buy a firearm.
You must be 17 years of age to possess a handgun.
There is no minimum age to possess a long gun.
No limit to the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is needed to sell or possess ammo in Louisiana.
Armor-piercing bullets are not allowed.
No records of ammo sales are required.
No restriction on handgun magazine capacity.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.