FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

MAINE
CONCEALED CARRY

No permit is required in Maine for the concealed carry of firearms.
Must be 21 years of age (with a few exceptions).

OPEN CARRY

No permit is required for the open carry of firearms.
Must be 21 years of age (with a few exceptions).

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

Loaded firearms are permitted in cars or vehicles, if you are 21 years of age.
No permit is required to carry a loaded and concealed handgun in a vehicle.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

NFA items are legal in Maine, so long as they are registered properly pursuant to the National Firearms Act.

HUNTING

Automatic firearms are not lawful when hunting in Maine.
Tracer bullets and explosive bullets are unlawful while hunting.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

There is no firearms registration required in Maine.
There is no waiting period.
There is no background check required for the transfer of firearms between private parties.
No permit required for the purchase of firearms.
To buy a handgun, you must be 18 years old.
To buy a long gun, you must be 18 years old.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

To buy ammunition, you must be 16 years old.
No license is required for the sale or purchase of ammo.
It is not necessary to keep records of sales.
Armor-piercing bullets are not allowed in Maine.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png