FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

MARYLAND
CONCEALED CARRY

In order to carry a concealed handgun in Maryland, you must obtain a WCHP (Wear/Carry Handgun Permit).
Must be 21 years of age.

OPEN CARRY

In order to open carry in Maryland, you must obtain a WCHP (Wear/Carry Handgun Permit).
Must be 21 years of age.

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

Handguns, rifles and shotguns cannot be loaded while in a vehicle.
Ammunition must be kept separately, away from the firearm.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

With restrictions, Maryland allows for machine guns, suppressors (silencers), and short barreled shotguns and rifles.

HUNTING

Automatic firearms are unlawful when hunting in Maryland.
Certain ammunition for hunting is unlawful.
Suppressors (silencers) are lawful for hunting.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

A firearms training course is required for the purchase of handguns in Maryland.
There is a 7 day waiting period to buy a firearm.
A background check is required.
Firearms must be registered.
You must be 21 years of age to buy or possess a handgun.
Only one firearm purchase is allowed in a 30 day period.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

Must be 18 years of age to purchase ammunition.
No license is required to sell or possess ammo.
Keeping records of ammo sales is not required.
When traveling in a vehicle, ammunition must be kept separately, away from the unloaded firearm.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png