FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

MASSACHUSETTS
CONCEALED CARRY

In Massachusetts, a license is required to carry a concealed handgun.

OPEN CARRY

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

If you have a license to carry, you may have a loaded handgun or short-barreled firearm in your car or vehicle, if the firearm is under your direct control.
If you have a license to carry, you can have a rifle (large capacity) or a shotgun in your car or vehicle, as long as it is unloaded.
The rifle or shotgun should be in a locked case, or in the trunk.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

Massachusetts legally allows machine guns and short barreled shotguns and rifles.
However, it is extremely hard to obtain the approval required to own them.
Massachusetts bans the use of suppressors (silencers).

HUNTING

Massachusetts has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

You must be 18 years of age to buy a long gun.
You must be 21 years of age to buy a handgun or a large capacity firearm (that holds more than 10 rounds).
A Firearm Identification Card (FID Card) permit is required to buy and possess a gun.
A background check is required to obtain a FID card.
There is no waiting period to purchase a gun.
A record of firearm sales is required.
Private parties are required to perform an online background check before selling a gun (verifying the validity of the buyers FID card).
The transfer of a firearm must be submitted electronically to the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System (MIRCS).
Gun dealers are required to scan a firearm buyers fingerprints, or by entering the buyers ID number.
There is no limitation on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
Four guns a year may be transferred between private parties.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

The sale of ammunition in Massachusetts requires a license.
To buy ammo for a handgun, a FID card (Firearm Identification Card) is required.
To buy ammo for a handgun, you need to be 21 years of age.
To buy ammo for a long gun, you need to be 18 years of age.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png