FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Michigan, a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) is required to carry a concealed handgun.
Must be 21 years of age.
A concealed carry license is issued at the county level.
No license is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
In order to have a firearm in your car or vehicle in Michigan, firearms must be unloaded and in a case, or in the trunk.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
NFA items are legal in Michigan as long as they are registered properly pursuant to the National Firearms Act.
The open carry of firearms is legal while hunting in Michigan.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
If purchasing a handgun between private parties, either a purchase permit or a concealed carry license is required from the buyer.
Long guns transferred between private parties require no permit or license.
You must be 18 years of age to purchase a handgun from a private party.
You must be 18 years of age to possess a handgun.
You must be 21 years of age to purchase a handgun from an FFL dealer.
You must be 18 years of age to purchase a long gun from either a private party or an FFL dealer.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required for long guns.
The number of firearms bought at one time is unlimited.
The sale of firearms by a gun dealer requires that a record be kept and registered.
The sale of firearms by a private party requires the sale to be reported to law enforcement.
In Michigan, no license is required for the sale or possession of ammo.
There is no requirement to keep records of ammunition sales.
Armor-piercing bullets are unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.