FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

MINNESOTA
CONCEALED CARRY

A Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) is required when carrying a handgun in public, but there is no law regarding whether the handgun must be concealed.
Must be 21 years of age.
Must complete a firearms training course.

OPEN CARRY

A Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) is required when carrying a handgun in public.
Must be 21 years of age.
Must complete a firearms training course.
Long guns are prohibited from open carry.

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

The gun must be unloaded and in a case made for that gun, or unloaded and in the trunk of the car or vehicle.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

In Minnesota, modern short barreled shotguns and machine guns are unlawful.
Suppressors (silencers) are legal.

HUNTING

Small game hunting with a handgun is lawful.
Suppressors (silencers) are allowed while hunting.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

No permit is required to buy a handgun from a private party.
No permit is required to buy a long gun.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
No background check is required for the sale of firearms between private parties.
Must be 18 years of age to possess a handgun without the supervision of an adult.
No restriction on the number of firearms purchased at one time.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

No license is required to buy or possess ammunition in Minnesota.
Must be 18 years of age to possess ammo.
Records for the sale of ammunition is not required.
Metal-penetrating ammo is unlawful.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png