FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
No permit is required for carrying a concealed handgun.
No permit is required for the open carry of a firearm in Mississippi.
Must 18 years old to carry a gun openly.
Firearm is to be carried in a sheath, holster or scabbard.
Firearm cannot be obscured – must be seen at least partially above clothing.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
You may open carry or carry a concealed firearm in your vehicle, without a permit.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
NFA items are legal in Mississippi so long as they are registered properly with the federal government, pursuant to the National Firearms Act.
Hunting with a handgun or rifle - no bigger than .22 rimfire caliber cartridges.
Hunting with a shotgun – no bigger shot than number 6.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
No permit is required to buy a firearm in Mississippi.
No firearms are required to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required for private parties.
Must be 18 years of age to buy a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age to possess a handgun.
No age requirement for possessing a long gun (rifle or shotgun).
The number of firearms purchased at one time is unlimited.
No license is required to sell or possess ammunition in Mississippi.
No record of ammo sales is required.
Armor-piercing bullets are banned.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.