FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
No permit is required in Montana to carry a concealed handgun.
Must be 18 years of age for concealed carry.
No permit is required to openly carry a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
No license or permit is needed to carry a firearm in your car or vehicle.
Loaded firearms are allowed.
There are no regulations on where a firearm must be kept while traveling in a vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA firearms are legal to own in Montana.
Firearms including handguns, shotguns and rifles are legal for game hunting.
You are allowed to hunt with a suppressor (silencer).
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
No license is required to buy a firearm.
Firearms do not have to be registered.
No background check is required for private parties.
No limit on the number of firearms bought at one time.
No license is required to buy, possess or sell ammo.
Keeping records of ammunition sales is not required.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.