FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
No permit is required for concealed carry in New Hampshire.
A concealed carry license is optional.
Must be 18 years old to carry a concealed handgun.
No license is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must be 18 years old to carry a firearm in the open.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
You may carry a loaded handgun in your car or vehicle.
No license is required to have a handgun in your vehicle.
Handguns can be concealed or in the open.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA items are legal to own in New Hampshire, as long as they are registered with the federal government.
No hunting with fully automatic firearms.
No ‘smart rifles’ (rifles that are aided by electronic devices) are allowed for hunting.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
Registration of firearms is not required.
No license or permit is required when buying a firearm.
There is no waiting period.
There is no background check required for private parties.
No firearm transfers or sales to anyone under 18 years of age.
No restrictions on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No ammo transfers to anyone under 16 years of age.
Buying ammunition does not require a license.
No records are required to be kept for ammo purchases.
Armor-piercing ammo is unlawful.
Teflon-coated ammo is unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.