FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
Must have a PCH (Permit to Carry a Handgun).
You must be 21 years of age.
For new applicants, you must complete a firearms training course.
Permits are issued after the approval of your local police chief, then by a judge.
Open carry is not unlawful in New Jersey.
However, to carry a firearm, a PCH permit is required.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Firearms must be in the trunk of a car or vehicle, or in a secure case.
Firearms must be unloaded.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
New Jersey forbids the following NFA items:
Short barreled shotguns (SBS)
Short barreled rifles (SBR)
Machine guns are technically lawful, but are extremely hard to receive the proper permit for.
It is unlawful to hunt with a suppressor (silencer) in New Jersey.
It is unlawful to hunt with a “smart” firearm.
It is unlawful to hunt with larger than a 10 gauge shotgun.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
There is a 7 day waiting period.
A background check is required.
To purchase or possess a firearm, you must be 18 years of age.
To purchase or possess a handgun, you must be 21 years of age.
To purchase a firearm, a purchase permit or a Firearms Purchase Identification (FPID) card is required.
One handgun per month is the limit you can purchase.
Handgun sales require the gun dealer to keep a record.
Must be 21 years of age to buy handgun ammunition.
A Firearms Purchase Identification (FPID) card is also required to purchase handgun ammunition.
Ammo sales require the gun dealer to keep a record.
Armor-piecing, hollow point, dum ammo are unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.