FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In New York State, you must have a New York Pistol License (NYPL) to carry a concealed handgun.
You must be 21 years of age.
16 hours of firearm safety training is required.
As a general law, you cannot openly carry a handgun.
Long guns can be carried openly.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
You must have a permit to have a firearm in your car or vehicle.
The firearm must be unloaded and be kept in an “appropriate safe storage depository out of sight from outside the vehicle”.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
NFA items are banned in New York.
New York has various laws related to hunting seasons and the use of firearms.
Fully automatic firearms are unlawful.
Some semi-automatic firearms are allowed, with exceptions.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
Must be 16 years of age to possess a long gun.
To obtain or possess a handgun, you must be 21 years of age.
A permit is required for the purchase of handguns.
No permit is required to purchase long guns.
Handguns must be registered.
Long guns do not need to be registered.
Handguns require a license to be owned or possessed.
Long guns do not need a license to be owned.
All firearm sales or transactions must go through an FFL, even if the sale or transaction is between private parties.
Must be 16 years of age to possess ammunition.
A background check is required to buy ammunition.
To sell ammunition, you must be registered and keep a record of ammo sales.
To buy handgun ammunition, you must be legally able to possess a handgun.
Armor-piercing and explosive ammo is unlawful in New York.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.