FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In North Dakota, no license or permit is required for carrying a concealed handgun.
Must be 18 years of age (for a Class 2 CWL).
Must be 21 years of age (for a Class 1 CWL).
To open carry a loaded handgun in ND, you must obtain a Concealed Weapon License (CWL).
To open carry an unloaded handgun, no permit or license is required.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Loaded firearms are permitted in a car or vehicle provided you have a concealed weapons permit, a driver’s license, or a state ID card.
Unloaded firearms require no license while traveling in a vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA items are legal to own in North Dakota, provided they are registered properly pursuant to the National Firearms Act.
North Dakota has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
Must be 21 to buy a handgun.
Must be 18 to possess a handgun.
No age restriction on the possession of long guns.
Firearms are not required to be licensed.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
No permit is required to buy firearms.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required between private parties.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is required for the sale, purchase, or possession of ammunition.
The seller of ammunition is not required to keep records.
Armor-piercing ammo is lawful.
No restrictions on magazine capacity.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.