FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

OKLAHOMA
CONCEALED CARRY

Concealed carry of handgun – no permit needed (Permitless Carry).
Must be at least 21 years old and legally allowed to possess a firearm.
Cannot concealed carry a handgun with larger than .45 caliber ammunition.

OPEN CARRY

Oklahoma gun laws include the open carry of a handgun – no permit is needed (Permitless Carry).

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

Transporting a handgun in a motor vehicle without a permit is legal in Oklahoma, as long as you can legally possess one.
The firearm can be loaded or unloaded at the time.
You can also transport a shotgun or rifle in a motor vehicle, open or concealed.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

Machine guns, suppressors (silencers), short barreled rifles and short barreled shot guns are legal in Oklahoma, unless you are a felon, or if you have been convicted of a narrow range of other crimes.
All game hunting is legal if you are using a suppressor or silencer.

HUNTING

While hunting, you may carry a firearm on both public and private land (some restrictions apply).
Hunters must have permission to be on occupied or posted land, or land that is for forestry, ranching, or for farming.
Hunters are allowed to use suppressors (silencers) while hunting.
Road hunting is not allowed.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

To purchase a firearm in Oklahoma, you must be at least 18 years old.
No license or permit is required to purchase firearms.
There is no waiting period.
Firearms do not need to be registered.
There is no limitation on the number of firearms you can purchase at one time.
There is no background check required for private parties to transfer a gun.
Background checks are required when purchasing a gun from a licensed dealer.
No firearm shall be sold to the following:
Convicted felons
Adjudicated delinquents
Persons under the influence of drugs or alcohol
Persons who are disturbed, or persons who are mentally or emotionally unbalanced

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

In Oklahoma, no armor penetrating ammunition is allowed.
You are not allowed more than .45 caliber ammo when concealed carry of a handgun.
There is no requirement to have records of any ammo sale or purchase.
There are no magazine restrictions (the number of rounds in a magazine).
No license is required to:
Sell ammunition
Buy ammunition

OTHER

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png