FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Oregon, a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is required when carrying a concealed handgun.
Must be 21 years of age.
Must demonstrate competence with a handgun (firearms training course, organized shooting competition, or having been in the military).
No permit is required for openly carrying a handgun or long gun.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
In Oregon, a concealed or readily accessible loaded handgun in a car or vehicle requires a CHL (Concealed Handgun License).
No permit is required to have a loaded gun that is not concealed or readily accessible in a vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
The following NFA items are legal to own in Oregon, as long as they are properly registered under the NFA.
Short barreled rifles
Short barreled shotguns
Oregon has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
In Oregon, to purchase a firearm, no license is required.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
A background check is required.
All firearm transactions must go through an FFL licensed gun dealer, even if between private parties. Both parties are required to be present.
The gun dealer is required to keep a record of the firearm transaction.
The minimum age for purchasing or possessing a firearm is 18 (with some exceptions).
There is no limitation on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
In Oregon, sales of ammunition does not require a license.
No record of ammo sales are required to be kept.
Teflon-coated and armor-piercing ammo are unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.