FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Pennsylvania, a License to Carry Firearms (LCF) is required to carry a concealed handgun.
Must be 21 years of age.
No license is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
In Pennsylvania, you are required to have a License to Carry Firearms (LCF) to transport loaded guns (except long guns) in a car or vehicle.
Must have an LCF to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle.
Long guns are lawful to transport in a vehicle without an LCF.
Firearms can be lawfully open carried in a vehicle, no license is required.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA items are legal to own in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
Silencers (suppressors) are lawful while hunting in Pennsylvania.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
You must be 18 years of age to possess a firearm.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
Background checks are required when selling a handgun, including between private parties.
Background checks are not required when selling a long gun.
Handguns transferred between private parties are required to go through a gun dealer (not required for parents and children, spouses, grandparents, grandchildren).
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.