FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
To carry a concealed handgun in Rhode Island, you must obtain a Rhode Island License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW).
A firearms training course is required.
Must be 21 years of age.
Firearms cannot be open carried without a permit, unless you have an LCCW.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
In Rhode Island, you can carry a loaded gun in your car or vehicle with the proper permit.
Otherwise, the firearm must remain unloaded in a vehicle.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
All NFA firearms are unlawful in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
To buy a handgun, you must be 21 years of age.
To buy a handgun, you must obtain a Rhode Island License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LCCW), or obtain a “blue card”.
Must be 18 years of age to possess a firearm.
Unless you already have a concealed carry license, you must obtain a safety certificate.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
There is a 7 day waiting period.
A background check is required for the transfer of firearms between private parties.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
To possess ammunition in Rhode Island, you must be 18 years of age.
No license is required for selling, buying, or possessing ammo.
There is no requirement to keep records of ammunition sales.
Armor-piercing ammo is unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.