FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

SOUTH DAKOTA
CONCEALED CARRY

In South Dakota, no permit is required to carry a concealed handgun.
Must be 18 years of age.

OPEN CARRY

No license is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age.

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

Loaded handguns in a vehicle are lawful.
No permit is required.
Must be 18 years of age.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

NFA items are legal in South Dakota so long as they are registered properly pursuant to the National Firearms Act.

HUNTING

Silencers (suppressors) are legal for hunting with in South Dakota.
Fully automatic firearms are unlawful for hunting in SD.
South Dakota has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

No license is required to purchase a firearm.
Firearm sales do not require to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
No background check required between private parties.
There is no minimum age to purchase a firearm.
To possess a handgun, you must be 18 years of age.
There is no minimum age for the possession of a long gun.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

No license is required to sell or buy ammunition in SD.
No record of ammo sales is required.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png