FirearmPossessionUse_Background.png

FIREARM LAWS &REGULATIONS

TENNESSEE
CONCEALED CARRY

In Tennessee, carrying a concealed handgun is lawful without a permit.
Must be 21 years of age.

OPEN CARRY

The open carry of a firearm is lawful without a permit.
Must be 21 years of age.

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY

In TN, loaded firearms are allowed in cars and vehicles.

NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS

As long as federal law is followed, NFA firearms are legal in Tennessee.

HUNTING

Fully automatic firearms are unlawful when hunting in Tennessee.
Silencers (suppressors) are lawful when hunting.
Tennessee has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.

FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES

In Tennessee, no license is required to buy a firearm.
No registration of firearms is required.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required between private individuals.
To buy or possess a handgun, you must be 18 years old.
To buy a long gun, you must be 18 years old.
To possess a long gun, there is no minimum age.
No limitation on the number of firearms bought at one time.

AMMUNITION REGULATIONS

The use of explosive ammo is unlawful.

OTHER

Other Info

Munitions_Alabama_State.png

DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.

Munitions_Web_Icon_NationalShootingSport
Munitions_Web_Icon_VetOwned.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_SuperLawyers.png
Munitions_Web_Icon_NRA.png