FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
Permitless concealed carry is lawful in Texas.
Must be 21 years of age.
Permitless open carry is lawful in Texas.
The open carry of a handgun requires the handgun to be kept in a holster.
Long guns can be carried openly, no holster is required.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
No license is required to have a handgun in your car or vehicle.
The handgun cannot be in plain view, unless in a holster.
Must be 21 years of age, or have a LTC.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Texas residents are allowed to own NFA firearms, as long as NFA regulations are followed.
Texas has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
In Texas, no license is required for the purchase of firearms.
No registration of firearms is required.
No waiting period.
No background check is required between private parties.
To purchase a firearm, you must be 18 years of age.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
There is no minimum age for the purchase or possession of ammunition in Texas.
No license is required for the purchase or possession of ammo.
No record of ammo sales is required.
Armor-piercing ammo is unlawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.