FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Vermont, no permit is required when carrying a concealed handgun.
No permit is required for carrying a firearm in the open.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
It is lawful to carry a loaded handgun in your car or vehicle in Vermont.
No permit is required.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
The following NFA firearms are lawful:
Short Barreled Shotguns (SBS)
Short Barreled Rifles (SBR)
Vermont has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
In Vermont, no permit is required to purchase a firearm.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required between private parties.
In order to purchase a firearm, you must be 21 years of age (with varying exceptions).
In order to possess a handgun, you must be 16 years of age.
No minimum age to possess a long gun.
No limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is required to sell ammo in Vermont.
Must be 16 years of age to possess ammunition.
It is not required to keep records of ammunition sales.
Armor-piercing ammo is lawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.