FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
Concealed carry in Virginia requires a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
Must be 21 years of age.
Must demonstrate competency with a handgun.
Must complete a firearms training course.
No permit or license is required for the open carry of firearms in Virginia.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Handguns are allowed without a permit when in a secured compartment, such as a glove compartment or center console.
The compartment or console does not have to be locked.
Carrying a concealed handgun on your person in a vehicle is unlawful without a permit.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
Fully-automatic firearms must be registered with the Virginia state police. This includes machine guns.
Suppressors (silencers), short-barreled rifles and short-barreled shotguns are lawful as long as they are registered pursuant to the National Firearms Act.
Virginia has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
Silencers (suppressors) are lawful for use when hunting in Virginia.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
No license is required for the sale of firearms.
There is no waiting period.
There is no background check for private parties.
To purchase a handgun, you must be 18 years of age.
There is no minimum age to purchase long guns.
Must be 18 years of age to be in possession of a handgun, shotgun or assault rifle.
No minimum age for other types of long guns.
No limitation on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is required to sell ammunition in Virginia.
No minimum age to purchase or possess ammo.
No requirement to keep a record of ammo sales.
Armor-piercing ammunition is lawful.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.