FIREARM LAWS ®ULATIONS
In Wisconsin, a Concealed Weapons License (CWL) is required to carry a concealed handgun.
Must be 21 years of age.
Must complete a firearms training course.
No permit is required for the open carry of a firearm.
Must be 18 years of age.
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRY
Must have a Concealed Weapons License (CWL) in order to have a concealed handgun within your reach when traveling in a car or vehicle.
No license is required to have a loaded handgun out in the open in your vehicle.
Long guns are unlawful to be concealed in a vehicle.
Long guns must be unloaded.
NATIONAL FIREARMS ACT (NFA) FIREARMS
As long as federal NFA laws are adhered to, the following are lawful in Wisconsin:
Short barreled riffles
Short barreled shotguns
Wisconsin has varying laws regarding firearms and hunting, consult your local authorities.
FIREARM TRANSFERS & SALES
No license is required to purchase a firearm.
Firearms are not required to be registered.
There is no waiting period.
No background check is required between private parties.
Must be 18 years of age to purchase or possess a firearm in Wisconsin.
There is no limit on the number of firearms purchased at one time.
No license is required to sell, purchase or possess ammunition in Wisconsin.
There is no requirement to keep records of firearm sales.
Armor-piercing ammo is banned.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained throughout this web site is not legal advice and should not be construed as legal advice. In addition to Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C. the principal attorneys maintain additional separate law practices. All services provided hereunder are with Cheshire DeBrosse, P.C.